August 25, 2014 – Beginning September 1, 2014, Michigan workers will see an increase in the minimum wage rate from $7.40 to $8.15. The first rate increase in six years, this new change to state law marks the beginning of a gradual 25 percent increase of the minimum wage resulting in $9.25 per hour by 2018. The State of Michigan makes new online resources available at www.Michigan.gov/miosha to help workers and employers understand the facts as the new rate takes effect.
On May 27, 2014 the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, Public Act 138 of 2014 (Act 138), took immediate effect replacing the Michigan Minimum Wage and Overtime Act (Act 154). Act 138 is enforced by the Wage and Hour Program within the Technical Services Division of the Michigan Occupational Safety and Health Administration (MIOSHA).
Act 138 applies to employers in Michigan that have two or more employees age 16 and older. A copy of Act 138, along with guidelines and the required poster may be downloaded from the Wage and Hour Program website.